IPR (PR) 3/2009                                                                 Dated Naharlagun, Oct 27, 2009


Mein sworn in Pro Tem Speaker

Itanagar, Oct.  27: Chowkham MLA Chow Tewa Mein was sworn in as the Pro Tem speaker in a function at Raj Bhavan here on Oct 26.

Governor Gen J.J Singh administered the oath of office to Mein in presence of Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu, former Speaker Setong Sena and senior Congress leaders including Nabum Tuki, Tako Dabi, Tsewang Dondhup, Bosiram Siram, Nido Povitro and newly elected MLA Likha Saaya.

Chief Secretary Tabom Bam and Secretary to Governor P.S. Lokhande were also present during the swearing-In ceremony.

Former Minister and one of the senior most political personalities of the State, Mein was elected to the Second Legislative Assembly in 1995 and held the charge of Minister for Horticulture. He was re-elected to the fourth Legislative Assembly and is being elected again to the Fifth Legislative Assembly. Born on 2nd December 1942, Mein is an active social and political worker.

The Pro Tem Speaker will be swearing-in the newly elected MLAs during the first session of the Fifth Legislative Assembly. After the newly elected MLAs are sworn in, the Legislators will elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker, reports PRO to Governor.

Sd/- Purabi Taikam, PRO


Content owned and provided by Governor Secretariat, Arunachal Pradesh
Site designed by National Informatics Centre, Arunachal Pradesh State Unit
Site designed for 800 X 600 resolution and best viewed by IE 6.0 or above

History of State | Profile of Governor | Rajbhawan | Past Governors | Contact Addresses | Events | Selected Speeches | Home
Welcome! Today is